For Every Season by Cindy Woodsmall

For Every Season by Cindy Woodsmall is the third book in her Amish Vines and Orchards series. I have read the first two books in this series and I do think that to fully understand the characters, that it is crucial to read the first books, all in order.

For Every Season is the continuation of Rhoda, Jacob, Samuel, Leah, Landon and their families as they develop a new Amish community and farm an apple orchard. I don’t want to give too much away for those who need to read the first two books…

I think Cindy Woodsmall has a gift to really make characters come to life as ‘real’ people with strong characters with flaws, yet still make the lovable and likable.  I did get a little frustrated with how this book seemed to drag on a little bit and I felt I knew the characters emotions before she did… But doesn’t this happen in real life too? It is much easier seeing something from the outside than going through it yourself.  There are a lot characters to keep track of and I think without reading the previous ones in the series, it would be difficult and their characters have developed through all three books so a reader reading just this book would not be as attached to the characters I believe. I love the authors insights and style of writing and was able to lose myself in this Amish Community and enjoy their lives throughout this book.

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

I received this book free from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.

5 thoughts on “For Every Season by Cindy Woodsmall

  1. I would like to do my first book giveaway of my gently used copy of this book, For Every Season! If you would like a chance to win it, please leave a comment about why you enjoy reading Amish fiction and write your email address in long form (at) (dot).com! I will randomly choose a winner from those who follow the above directions and notify them via email on November 20, 2013.

Leave a Reply

