An Elegant Solution by Paul Robertson

An Elegant Solution by Paul Robertson

I will start off with the positives. First, I love the title! The title intrigued me to read the description of this book and that made me want to read it. The cover illustration is eye catching and very cool with the meaning of spirals in mathematics.

About the book: the book description states Leonhard Euler is more than just friends with the Bernoulli family and gets lured into an investigation of the death of their Uncle Jacob, who died a suspicious death 20 years ago.

I did not finish this book. I usually think it is unfair to write a review on a book one has not read and was trying really hard to keep going, but it will simply take me too long. It is written in first person, and I did get a little over 140 pages into this book, but I still felt like the main character, Leonhard, was a stranger. I am the type of reader that loves to fall in love with the characters in the book I am reading. I love to get lost in their fictional world and feel their pain and happiness. That being said, I do not understand how Leonhard thinks or feels. The little bit that was written about his grandmother made me like her more than him, yet she was a stranger also. The character development just wasn’t there at 140 pages in. I thought the mystery and intrigue would be fun and entertaining, but instead was slow and disjointed. I have read that the historical details in this book are very accurate. Normally I love historical fiction, but the details were presented in such a way that I had a hard time following. I would say An Elegant Solution is written more like a classic book is written, so those who love the classics may still love this book, along with very intellectual, detail oriented, mathematic loving persons.

I rate this book 2 out of 5 stars.

I received this book free from Bethany House publishers in exchange for or my honest review.

Leave a Reply

