Dare to Love Again by Julie Lessman

 What it’s about: Rich Allison (Alli) McClare has a heart of gold and uses her time to teach unfortunate, underprivileged children. She teaches in an unsafe part of the city, but that does not deter her from wanting to be an independent woman, not under the rule of any man after having her heart broken by a careless man. Detective Nick Barone works hard at keeping the streets as safe as he can, but still feels they are no place for a rich, young, attractive female on her own. He has burned by a rich woman in his past and has no patience for Alli’s carelessness and ideas, but sparks sure fly any time they are near each other! Will they learn to trust each other and Dare to Love Again?

What I loved: I loved the humor in this book! It made me laugh out loud many times!  The characters senses of humor were just downright fun! I liked the “realness” of the characters and their unsavory thoughts and actions rather than a book filled with “perfect Christians”. Julie Lessman has a flair for rich details that capture your imagination and surprises when I didn’t expect anything out of the ordinary to happen next to keep the plot intriguing.

What I didn’t like: In the beginning of the book, Alli got on my nerves. Her flair for being over-dramatic is a type of personality that clashes with mine…. but yet that also says how well Alli’s character was developed. 🙂 Her naïveté was annoying and frustrating at times but I also know people can be raised like that in real life, so it didn’t make for an unrealistic personality characteristic.

I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.

I received this book free from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing, in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

