Worth the Wait (Waltham Academy Book One) by Laura Jackson

Worth the Wait (Waltham Academy Book One) by Laura Jackson

What Worth the Wait is about: Ellie Lansing has a blessed life with a great family and friends and the perfect boyfriend of several years… all by her senior year of high school. But then her world shatters when she finds out that her mother has cancer and needs surgery and treatment AND her longtime-perfect-boyfriend has cheated on her! Ellie learns that as her world is shattered, God is there for her through it all and His plans are Worth the Wait.

My thoughts:
I loved this book! It is a Young Adult book, but I am almost 30 and absolutely loved it! Laura Jackson gripped my heart in a way that few authors do. I found myself constantly thinking about this book and God’s promises that are interwoven as I was reading this.

Worth the Wait tackles some tough issues with cancer and sex, but it was done masterfully. Of course there are no graphic, inappropriate scenes, but it does deal with teenage sex and purity. This is a topic often glossed over in many YA Christian novels, but Worth the Wait dealt with it and taught a powerful lesson. The cancer issue was realistic and moving also.

The characters are well developed and so “REAL”! They are lovable people with flaws, just like we all are. One of the minor moments that really touched me was when the main character’s dad made a comment on how Ellie should be feeling and when the main character (Ellie) got upset about this, her dad left an apology note for her. It showed human flaws in all their glory, but how something so simple as acknowledging and apologizing can make a world of difference to someone.

I think we all can relate to feeling lost at times or impatient or worn down. Worth the Wait offers God’s promises and timing in a moving, unforgettable tale.

I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars. It gripped my emotions and I highly recommend it!

I received this book in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.

Meet the author: Laura Jackson

I love books—reading and writing them. As an elementary school librarian, I get to spend most of my day sharing great books with kids. After work, I write my own stories to share.

When I’m not surrounded by words, I love watching sports. I’m a huge Rockets fan, and I love the Texans.

I’m passionate about Jesus, books, trees, and cupcakes.

I love to hear from readers, so please find me on Facebook, Twitter (LauraJackson80), Goodreads, or on authorlaurajackson.blogspot.com.

2 thoughts on “Worth the Wait (Waltham Academy Book One) by Laura Jackson

Leave a Reply

