Tessa (From Fear to Faith by Melissa Wiltrout

Tessa (From Fear to Faith by Melissa Wiltrout

What Tessa is about: Tessa is a high school student who is forced to work in her father’s illegal drug business. She is abused by her father and her mother is negligent, but her attempts at running away only make things worse for Tessa. She starts to scare even herself with her own criminal tendencies after being raised in such a way. She pushes away her true friends and feels trapped in her horrible life. Tessa’s neighbors show her and her parents what life is like as a Christian and Tessa finally finds something worth living for… but is it enough? Or too little too late?

What I loved and liked and really enjoyed: I loved Tessa’s vulnerability! I loved Heather and her quiet, yet strong personality and how she strove so hard to follow Jesus, but still fell at times, but then was quick to realize and apologize. I loved the “realness” of this book and how it dealt with some really hard and plain old “bad” issues. There are so many Christian books where everything is just perfect in their little Christian world and that gets frustrating, so it was so refreshing to read a book that dealt with some real issues.

What I didn’t like as much: I felt at times that this book was more a manual for a brand-new Christian on how to become one and the first steps from there. I did see others thought the beginning was slow but the end was fast-paced, but for me it was the opposite. I really liked the beginning and how the author drew me in and I wanted to know what Tessa was going to do and where she was going to go with things, but after about half-way through, I thought it changed course a bit where it turned more into the steps for a new Christian. Which is not a bad thing…. I think this book has so much to offer some people, especially those who are going through similar situations and searching for and finding God for that first time. I do think this book should be labeled “Young Adult” rather than “general” with the content and age of Tessa.

I rate this book 3 out of 5 stars.

I received this book free from the publisher through Bookcrash in exchange for my honest review.

About the author, Melissa Wiltrout:

Image of Melissa Wiltrout

Melissa Wiltrout lives in Wisconsin with her two dogs, a 15-year-old Sheltie named Chester and an energetic young terrier named Daisy. She began writing her first novel (it was a dud) at the age of eight. Now in her thirties, she keeps busy at the family nursery and landscaping business during the summer and spends her winters writing. Having experienced much struggle in her own life, it is her prayer that others will find hope and encouragement through her writing.

Click on the link below to purchase Tessa!

http://www.amazon.com/Tessa-From-Faith-Melissa-Wiltrout-ebook/dp/B00EYKLX7Q/ref=sr_1_cc_2?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1394942529&sr=8-2-catcorr&keywords=tessa+from+faith+to+fear

Leave a Reply

