Tide and Tempest by Elizabeth Ludwig

Tide and Tempest by Elizabeth Ludwig

Tide and Tempest, the third and final installment in Elizabeth Ludwig’s Edge of Freedom series, started off strong and hooked me enough to want to follow the whole way through. Tide and Tempest is about Tillie McGrath, who comes to America from Ireland with her fiancé, only to find herself alone after her fiancé falls ill and dies (trust me, this is not a spoiler 🙂 ) Tillie moves on…. at least in part, with making a new dream for herself and saving up for her dream.

It’s now two years after Tillie arrived in America, and Captain Keondric Morgan, still can’t get Tillie out of his mind. But then another death on his ship leads to a deathbed confession that leads Captain Morgan to check on Tillie and guard her until this deathbed confession mystery is solved.

The beginning was really good and hooked me and made me so excited to read Tide and Tempest! But then as I read further, I had a hard time every really connecting with the characters. This often makes or breaks a book for me. Tillie has a secret that is revealed fairly soon in the book where I thought I would really bond with her and I was touched during that scene, but then after I felt detached from her and the others throughout. I think this is well-written with good descriptions, but the first two-thirds is much slower than the last third of the book. I rate the first two-thirds at a 3… which is “okay” and then the last third as a 4, which means I liked it. We all have different opinions, and I can definitely see others connecting with the characters of this book and thoroughly enjoying this whole book. I did get frustrated with the secrets of the main characters romantic feelings and felt this drug out too long and then had a really abrupt ending, but the suspense at the end of the book was great and really well-written!

I received this book from Bethany House Publishers for my honest review.

I rate this book 3.5… 3 for the first two-thirds and 4 for the last third.

Meet the author:
Elizabeth Ludwig is an award-winning author whose work has been featured on Novel

Rocket, the Christian Authors Network, and The Christian Pulse. Her first novel, Where the Truth Lies (co-authored with Janelle Mowery), earned her the 2008 IWA Writer of the Year Award. This book was followed in 2009 by “I’ll be Home for Christmas”, part of the Christmas anthology collection, Christmas Homecoming.

In 2011, her second mystery, Died in the Wool (co-authored with Janelle Mowery) was nominated for a Carol Award. In 2012, the popular EDGE OF FREEDOM series released from Bethany House Publishers. Books one and two, No Safe Harbor and Dark Road Home, respectively, earned 4 Stars from the RT Book Reviews. Book three, Tide and Tempest, received top honors with 4 1/2 Stars.

Elizabeth is an accomplished speaker and teacher, often attending conferences and seminars where she lectures on editing for fiction writers, crafting effective novel proposals, and conducting successful editor/agent interviews. Along with her husband and children, she makes her home in the great state of Texas.

You can buy this book at multiple retailers like, Baker, Amazon, CBD.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s