A Romance Rekindled by Kimberly Rose Johnson

A Romance Rekindled by Kimberly Rose Johnson

What it’s about: (from the publisher)

“The small-town CPA can’t forget how Blake Mitchell jilted her and left their hometown without an explanation. But when her first love returns to Leavenworth, the ruggedly handsome writer evokes conflicting emotions, especially when Susan meets the child she assumes is his daughter.

Since his parents’ deaths six years ago, Blake’s been raising his little sister on his own. But he’s never forgotten the woman he left behind. Now, he can’t undo the past, but maybe he can change the future…if he can convince Susan to give him one more chance.”

My thoughts:

I don’t think forgiveness is an easy topic, especially when it comes to dating and matters of the heart. This book tackled that volatile situation. The author created characters that were easily likable, yet with real flaws. I really liked Katie, (and not because we share the same name) Blake’s sister. She was spunky, creative and intuitive and I just enjoyed her personality a lot. It takes a talented writer to make you fall in love with their characters. While I didn’t cry in this book (I’m a sucker for a story that makes me laugh and cry), it did make me laugh out loud and I was excited to pick up the book to see what would happen next because the details of the book kept me wanting to know more. This is a shorter book, where I am able to get more invested than in a novella, but the shorter length allows me to be able to fully enjoy my time committed to reading it in a day or two…. which is why I love many Heartsong books and Kimberly Rose Johnson did a wonderful job with the story as a whole, but even better at tackling the topic of forgiveness and how we struggle to completely forgive and move on.

I give this book 4.5 stars out of 5, meaning I really liked it and enjoyed it and recommend it.

I received this book with no obligation, but promised to tell others if I enjoyed it, which I did, so I am!

Leave a Reply

