A Place in His Heart by Rebecca DeMarino

A Place in His Heart by Rebecca DeMarino

What it’s about: from the publisher/back cover

“She could cross an ocean, but could she ever win his heart?

Anglican Mary Langton longs to marry for love. Left at the altar and disgraced in her small hamlet, she is being pressured to marry the eligible son of the London milliner. Puritan Barnabas Horton still grieves the loss of his beloved wife, but he knows his two young sons need a mother.

With tender hearts, Mary and Barnabas take a leap of faith and wed. But when Barnabas’s secret plans to move his family to the New World to escape persecution come to light, Mary’s world is upended. How could she possibly leave her papa and her dear sister?

And will she ever reach the secret places of her husband’s broken heart?”

What I loved:

Rebecca DeMarino is a talented writer. She was able to make me love and hate the characters and how she writes with her flow and descriptions, I was able to picture everything.

I love the time period and marriages of convenience and the Puritan history.

What I didn’t like:

First of all, I don’t know if I was frustrated with how much of the book description gives away or how slow the book was. But it takes almost one-third of the book to get to what we already know from the book description.

It was hard to follow the time periods with skipping years at a time.

I disliked the ‘hero’ Barnabas and don’t consider him one at all and his one son and how they treated Mary.

I did to like how Barnabas was a “holier than thou- God talk” guy who was mean and selfish and the very picture of one of the worst hypocrites. I wanted to throw my book when he had a talk with Mary of never physically hitting her like he was so great for that even though I consider his treatment of her very emotionally abusive.

Final thoughts:

I find it too hard to love a book, no matter how talented the author and the writing when I hate one or more of the main characters and everything they do throughout the book. So, while I didn’t like this book, I am sure others will be able to latch onto the writing and like it and we all have different opinions of people characteristics and what makes a ‘hero’, so some will love this book but I wrote my honest opinion.

I personally rate this book 2.5 out of 5 stars as I didn’t care for it, the writing itself is great, but the story and characters I didn’t like.

I received this book from Revell for my honest review, which I have given.

About the author:

When Rebecca DeMarino traveled to Horton Point, Long Island, with her mother, Helen Jean Horton Worley, in 1999, passions collided: her love of faith, family, travel, history, and writing. Rebecca’s debut novel, A PLACE IN HIS HEART, is a historical romance based on Mary and Barnabas Horton, Rebecca’s ninth great-grandparents. Set in 1600’s Southold, Long Island, book one of The Southold Chronicles will be released by Revell in June, 2014. She lives in the Pacific Northwest and when not writing, she enjoys family and genealogy, travel, reading, running, baking and gardening. Rebecca is represented by Greg Johnson of WordServe Literary Agency.

Rebecca DeMarino is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers, Romance Writers of America, and The Southold Long Island Historical Society. She was a 2011 Genesis Award semi-finalist and lives in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, Tom. A Place in His Heart is based on DeMarino’s ancestors, who came to Long Island in the mid-1600s to establish a life–and a legacy–in the New World. Learn more at http://www.rebeccademarino.com.

Leave a Reply

