The Hesitant Heiress by Dawn Crandall

image

Every once in a while, a new author comes out and their first book makes me thrilled to see what else will follow! Dawn Crandall and her book, The Hesitant Heiress is exactly that for me.

What it’s about:

Amaryllis Brigham’s dreams come crashing down when she is expelled from the Boston Conservatory of Music because of a cruel, false accusation. Amaryllis prefers to keep to herself and her music rather than play the games that high society does, but after her expulsion, she moves in with her aunt in Boston. There, Amaryllis finds herself in the middle of all the high-class drama and the center of attention from one of the most eligible bachelors, Nathan Everstone. Amaryllis finds herself enchanted with Nathan, yet unable to trust him because Nathan’s father has haunted her nightmares since her mother’s death. Will Amaryllis ever be able to trust a rich, high-society member, especially an Everstone?

My thoughts:

The Hesitant Heiress was one of those books that had me thinking about it every time I had to set it down and wishing I could just keep reading it. It got the point where I could NOT put The Hesitant Heiress down while reading the last hour and a half or so and stayed up late into the night (okay wee morning hours actually) 🙂 !

I identified so much with Amaryllis that I felt like I was reading my own feelings several times throughout The Hesitant Heiress. I’m still waiting for my “Nathan” in real life, but I hope he makes me feel like he makes Amaryllis feel…. and me as I read this. A wide variety of characters and personalities showcases Ms. Crandall’s talent for character development. There were those I loved to love and those I loved to hate! 😉

I liked the true-to-history type of writing this was and think those who love the Austen and Bronte type classics will love Dawn Crandall.

This is written in first person point of view, and done wonderfully!

Dawn Crandall is a new author that I cannot wait to anxiously await each new book she writes! I love finding new favorite authors!

I rate a The Hesitant Heiress 5 out of 5 stars.

I received an advance digital copy in exchange for my honest opinion.

I’m not the only one who loves The Hesitant Heiress! One of my favorite authors, Elizabeth Camden had this to say:

image

You can pre-order The Hesitant Heiress now at: http://www.amazon.com/Hesitant-Heiress-Everstone-Chronicles-Crandall-ebook/dp/B00M4LQ81I/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1406398038&sr=8-1&keywords=Dawn+Crandall

About the Author:

image

Dawn Crandall is a writer, a wife, lover of three cats, and a new mommy. Her first novel, The Hesitant Heiress, will debut on August 1, 2014 from Whitaker House Books, which is what this post is all about! She is the author of historical romantic suspense in first person point of view… which comes out as a little mix of Jane Eyre (by Charlotte Bronte), Christy (by Catherine Marshall) and Rebecca (by Daphne du Maurier). She is represented by Joyce Hart of Hartline Literary Agency. You can also find her at http://www.dawncrandall.blogspot.com. I am a 2000 graduate from Taylor University with a BA in Christian Education and a passion for writing complex and in-depth love stories. You can also find Dawn at http://www.facebook.com/dawncrandallwritesfirst.

Leave a Reply

