Captured by Love by Jody Hedlund

image

What it’s about:

Angelique finds herself on Michilimackinac Island during war in 1814 between the Americans and British. She loves this island more than anything she can ever imagine and knows she would not be content to live anywhere else.

Angelique is promised to Jean but he is off fighting the war, and she is stuck with her guardian, Ebenezer, who mistreats her but feeds her and provides a roof over her head. Angelique helps Jean’s mother, who is blind, as often as she can, but it’s not enough for either of them during the hardships of war.

Pierre, Jean’s brother, shows up on the island and is shocked to find his mother blind and unable to care for herself and Angelique…. she used to be the little girl he played for hours with…. now…. Pierre finds himself falling in love with her, but isn’t sure he can give up his traveling ways as a hunter and fur trader.

Angelique must decide if she needs to honor her mind and commitment to Jean or her heart and it’s love for Pierre.

My thoughts:

I love outdoorsy-type books, so it was fun for me to read this book while camping in a tiny cabin with no electricity along a lake. Captured by Love is well written and I could feel like I was with them in the swimming hole and canoe, but I did have trouble getting emotionally involved with the characters. Angelique is caring, kind and noble and strives to do the right thing according to her Christian values, so she was a wonderful character even though I just couldn’t get attached to her. I did really adore Pierre and Jean’s mother, Miriam. I have worked with blind students in a school setting, so that is an area close to my heart. Pierre went through a major transformation with his character, which is great but I haven’t seen real people transformed quite like that so it was hard for me to relate and believe. The history behind Captured by Love is amazing and I love how real events and things were put into this book. I am not completely sure why I didn’t quite jive with this book so for me I can’t give it my top rating but I think many others will love it and it’s definitely worth a look for readers who love this type of book!

I rate this book 3.5 stars, it was okay and there were parts I enjoyed, it just didn’t grab me so that I loved it.

I received this book in exchange for my honest review, which I have given. Thank you Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

About the author:

image

Jody Hedlund is an award-winning and bestselling author of inspirational historical romances.

As a busy mama-writer, she has the wonderful privilege of teaching her crew of 5 children at home. In between grading math papers and giving spelling tests, she occasionally does a load of laundry and washes dishes. When she’s not busy being a mama, you can find her in front of her laptop working on another of her page-turning stories.

She loves reading almost as much as she loves writing, especially when it also involves chocolate and coffee.

Leave a Reply

