With Every Breath by Elizabeth Camden

image

What it’s about:

Kate Livingston has a good job as a government employee to help support herself and her parents’ boardinghouse. She narrowly missed a chance to go to college so this is the best she can do as a woman during this time. Out of the blue, Kate gets a job offer to work with a physician. Kate joins this physician in his search for a cure for tuberculosis, even though they have a rocky past. (You will have to read the book to see why, I don’t want to give away too many spoilers.) 🙂 Kate and this physician work hard and find their lives getting more attached than either could ever imagine. They have to decide if they will guard their own hearts or trust God.

My thoughts:

I read my first Elizabeth Camden about a year ago and she quickly became one of my favorite authors! With Every Breath is no exception! I sat with my mouth hanging open at times with my heart breaking and of course rejoicing too! I just love when a book can get into my heart and get my emotions rolling. I really loved the history behind this book as well…. Elizabeth Camden has a gift for using real historical events and facts and weaving them into a fictional story that is fascinating and riveting. I will admit I did get frustrated with Kate with her stubbornness towards the end…. but how often in real life do we make poor choices because of fear? I think we do all the time, and With Every Breath wove a wonderful story while teaching an important lesson. I did get frustrated wondering why Kate had to support her parents and why they couldn’t take care of themselves but Trevor addresses this issue too. The main part I loved, besides being well written and researched, is how Ms. Camden takes my emotions for such a ride! At one point, my jaw dropped and I was simply heartbroken. When an author can do that to me, I can’t help but love the book!

I rate With Every Breath 5 out of 5 stars!

I received this book from the publisher in digital format for my honest opinion.

About the author:

image

Elizabeth Camden is a research librarian at a small college in central Florida. Her novels have won the coveted RITA and Christy Awards. She has published several articles for academic publications and is the author of four nonfiction history books. Her ongoing fascination with history and love of literature have led her to write inspirational fiction. Elizabeth lives with her husband near Orlando, Florida.

She regularly posts about the joys of the book world at http://elizabethcamden.com/blog

Leave a Reply

