Lost & Found by Sarah Jakes

 

image

What it’s about:

From the publisher:
“Like every girl, Sarah Jakes dreamed of a life full of love, laughter, and happy endings. But her dreams changed dramatically when she became pregnant at age thirteen, a reality only compounded by the fact that her father, Bishop T.D. Jakes, was one of the most influential megachurch pastors in the nation. As a teen mom and a high-profile preacher’s kid, her road was lonely. She was shunned at school, gossiped about at church. And a few years later, when a fairy-tale marriage ended in a spiral of hurt and rejection, she could have let her pain dictate her future.

Instead, she found herself surrounded by a God she’d given up on, crashing headlong with Him into a destiny she’d never dreamed of. Sarah’s captivating story, unflinchingly honest and deeply vulnerable, is a vivid reminder that God can turn even the deepest pain into His perfection.

More than a memoir, Lost and Found offers hope and encouragement. Perhaps you, like Sarah, find yourself wandering the detours of life. Regardless of how lost you feel, you, too, can be found.”

My thoughts:

I felt it took a long time to get into Sarah’s story. Some people really like the background information first, but a I prefer for it to be woven in somehow. Once the real story started, it picked up for me. I love the quote, “For the first time I realized the difference between a momentary struggle and a lifetime journey.” and I love the love and support Ms. Jakes wrote about that her family had for her when she first told them of her pregnancy. I enjoyed some of the book then and really wanted to read it for a little while, then I got mired up in the details of motherhood. And more details. While she an interesting life, I wasn’t looking for all the little details, I thought this book was more about overcoming hardships and how to deal with them and life than all of the details of her life. There are many awesome quotes in this book and Ms. Jake has a lot of insight and knowledge. If you really like reading details about other peoples lives, you will most likely really enjoy this book. I wanted more details on how to overcome the junk we all encounter and find hope for our poor choices.

I give Lost and found 3 out of 5 stars. I’m sure many will like and love this book, for me it was okay and not quite what I thought it was going to be.

I received Lost and found from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

