Love’s Fortune by Laura Frantz

image

What it’s about:

“Wren”, Rowena Ballantyne, is a genuine, unassuming lady, more comfortable in the wilds of Kentucky than the rich society of Pennsylvania. Wren and her father go to Pennsylvania when her grandfather, Silas Ballantyne, summons them to come home to New Hope. Wren has never been away from her Kentucky home and struggles to fit in “polite/high society”. She finds the best pilot of the Ballantynes’ shipping enterprise, James Sackett, becomes her valued friend…. and maybe more? But Wren is an heir to the Ballantyne fortune and James is an employee. Can Wren find her place with her honest personality in this world of secrets and wealth?

My thoughts:

First of all, I think it’s important to say that I think this series needs to be read in order to get the fullness of the rich history this family has to offer. It is really fun to keep seeing what the characters from the first book are still doing in this third book. That being said, I really struggled with the first book (I know, I don’t understand because so many adore it so and I understand that, it just didn’t connect with me on the right level to do that) and I LOVED LOVED LOVED the second book. I loved the slavery history and the Underground Railroad information and the story itself really connected with me where I cried and was so devastated a couple times in it, where I texted a friend how devastated I was and how great Love’s Awakening is! My close friends are used to this. They humor me and how my books and the books characters are my friends. 🙂 With Love’s Fortune, I can’t describe enough how neat it was to see so much of the lives played out of many of the characters to this point from the other books. It has it all; love, deception, lies, wholesomeness, trials, heartbreak, and happiness. I did think it got a little long and drug out through the middle a little bit and ended a bit abruptly. I loved the rich legacy this book portrayed and the interesting historical details. I recommend this book and this series!

I give this book 4.5 out of 5 stars!

I received this book in digital format for my honest review.

About the author:

“Christy Award finalist and author, Laura Frantz, is passionate about all things historical, particularly the 18th-century, and writes her manuscripts in longhand first. Her stories often incorporate Scottish themes that reflect her family heritage. She is a direct descendant of George Hume, Wedderburn Castle, Berwickshire, Scotland, who was exiled to the American colonies for his role in the Jacobite Rebellion of 1715, settled in Virginia, and is credited with teaching George Washington surveying in the years 1748-1750. Her family resides in Kentucky and Virginia. According to Publishers Weekly, “Frantz has done her historical homework.” She is known for the depth of her characterization and research. The author is represented by Janet Kobobel Grant, Literary Agent & Founder, Books & Such Literary Agency of Santa Rosa, California. Readers can find Laura Frantz at laurafrantz.net”

Leave a Reply

