Reckless Devotion by Heidi and Rolland Baker

image

What it’s about:
From the back cover/publisher:
“Are you ready for a revolutionary year with Heidi & Rolland?

Whether stopping for the one in a dusty village in Mozambique or reaching out to the world, Heidi and Rolland model–and invite everyone into–the radical love that thrills God’s heart.

Energized by their work on the frontlines of ministry, the Bakers weave together miraculous stories, Scriptures, encouraging devotional thoughts and prayer to take you through the year.

Every day is a fresh invitation to live fully devoted to God. When you surrender to Him and allow His presence to grow in you, you will find, like the Bakers, that you don’t become less of yourself; you actually become more fully the person He has always intended you to be. Join Heidi and Rolland for an unforgettable year of sold-out, passionate, reckless devotion to the One who loves you more than you can imagine.

“All God wants is my laid-down love, my reckless devotion. He is asking the same from you.”–Heidi Baker”

My thoughts:

I like the way this devotional book is organized with a “Come Closer” page after 6 devotional pages that recapped some of the main messages from the previous 6 devotions. I found the last paragraph in each section to usually be the most meaningful to me and most relevant. I struggled reading them as I found no depth to them to actually implement any of the topical advice. I also struggled with understanding how some of the devotions were organized. They seemed to jump around where I didn’t know what point was trying to be made until the last paragraph, with a lot of personal experience thrown in where they talked of success in their lives in an area where they were struggling, yet still no practical advice on how they got to that point or how we can. The points they make are good ones and if you relate well to this writing style, you will enjoy this devotional. If you can’t relate, like me, you might find it frustrating.

I received this book for my honest review.

I rate this book 3 out of 5 stars. It’s okay, and some will love it, but I need more in-depth explaining, which is what I was looking forward to and expect in a devontional book.

Leave a Reply

