Slave Again by Alana Terry

image

What it’s about:
(From the back cover:)
“She traded in her prison uniform for shackles of a different kind.

After escaping a North Korean prison camp, Mee-Kyong is hustled over the border and sold into the Chinese underworld. She vows to survive, but sheer determination and willpower won’t save her this time. Is she fated to remain a slave forever?”

My thoughts:
The suspense in this book made me keep guessing at every page turn, but I did have to take it slow and put the book down to digest and think. Sex trafficking is not an easy topic, especially when you know the author did her homework and portrayed this as real as fiction can get. I’ve some reviews where people questioned the character development, but I disagree with that. I think some the characters were kept a bit secretive on purpose for the suspense and others had to protect themselves with how they had been treated their whole lives and were trying to figure out who they could trust and wouldn’t/couldn’t open up. This to me made the characters seem more real. Christian fiction usually does portray characters as very translucent and they are not in this book, which made it more interesting to me. The message behind this book is the most important part and I think that comes across loud and clear. I hope it prompts many of us to at least pray for these women in real life and maybe get involved in getting women out of sex trafficking. I know it has been laid heavy on my heart.

I give Slave Again 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommend this book for those looking to read a book that makes you think about some real world issues.

I received this book in exchange for my honest review.

About the author: Alana Terry has won awards for her books and is raising funds for the North Korean Underground Railroad. You can visit alana.terry.com/link to find out more!

Leave a Reply

