Beyond All Dreams by Elizabeth Camden

image

What it’s about:
From the publisher:
“Anna O’Brien leads a predictable and quiet life as a map librarian at the illustrious Library of Congress until she stumbles across a baffling mystery of a ship disappeared at sea. She is thwarted in her attempts to uncover information, but her determination outweighs her shyness and she turns to a dashing congressman for help.

Luke Callahan was one of the nation’s most powerful congressmen until his promising career became shadowed in scandal. Eager to share in a new cause and intrigued by the winsome librarian, he joins forces with Anna to solve the mystery of the lost ship.
Opposites in every way, Anna and Luke are unexpectedly drawn to each other despite the strict rules forbidding Anna from any romantic entanglement with a member of Congress.

From the gilded halls of the Capitol, where powerful men shape the future of the nation, to the scholarly archives of the nation’s finest library, Anna and Luke are soon embroiled in secrets much bigger and more perilous than they ever imagined. Is bringing the truth to light worth risking all they’ve ever dreamed for themselves?”

My thoughts:
I was so excited to see Elizabeth Camden come out with a new book! As soon as I read a book of her’s, she has fast become a favorite of mine. Beyond All Dreams did not disappoint! I loved it! I giggled and laughed more through this book than any others of Ms. Camden’s. These characters were so fun! They are plenty flawed, but remorseful of their sins. I absolutely adored Anna! It has been a long time since I have read a book with such a spunky, quick-witted and minded lead female. Luke’s personality is normally one I wouldn’t really like all the much, but I really did like him also. He is flamboyant and over-confident, yet struggles with his own sins in such a way to be likable.

The history incorporated in this book is fascinating too. As a book-lover and avid reader, it was really neat to learn more about the Library of Congress. The wonderful descriptions had me right in the old Library and the beautiful new one too. I was sucked in and didn’t want to leave. There were a few twists I didn’t see coming and I was truly surprised and I love that.

This book has it all. And towards the end of Beyond All Dreams, I started really hoping that there will be a continuation of Luke’s sister in another book!

I give Beyond All Dreams 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommend it to historical romance lovers!

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
Find out more about the author at her website: http://elizabethcamden.com

Leave a Reply

