Spinstered by Sharyn Kopf

image

What it’s about:
From the publisher: “Three friends. Three stories. Three women trying to figure out how they ended up over 40 and still single.

Committed to her job and pushing fifty, Catie Delaney has almost given up on her dream of love and marriage. Maybe, she tells herself, she’d be happier just embracing her singleness. Maybe that’s been God’s will all along.

Catie’s friends, Jolene and Uli, have their own struggles with men, careers, and family.

Then into this mix of feminine angst walks Brian Kemper—the latest GWP (Guy With Potential) to join their church’s singles group. But just as something seems about to happen between him and Catie, her world falls apart.

With their hearts on the line, these three friends search for hope … and find it in unexpected places.”

My thoughts:

I am finding that I am reading more and more books that are written in the first person POV. I am not sure if I happen to be picking these, or if more are being written, but I am finding they are written so well! Spinstered tackled not only one person in first-person, but THREE characters! I was able to identify in different ways with every main character and that always makes more a more enjoyable read.

I would categorize Spinstered as more realistic and just plain more “real” than most Christian fiction. It doesn’t sugar-coat or ignore issues and it isn’t all wrapped-up with a bow at the end like most books. This is one reason why I love this book so much. As a single woman, it can get frustrating reading all stories that end happily-ever-after while real life isn’t like that. At least mine isn’t. I’m not complaining either! I have a good life, I just am single.

Spinstered made me giggle and laugh-out-loud many times throughout! I had so much fun with Catie, Uli and Jolene! It got more serious towards the end, but still had comical moments or thoughts that lightened the mood.

The Christian messages in this book are what makes it so great. It deals with women’s emotions and insecurities with Biblical truths. I would say this book is geared to women, especially those who have ever or are dealing with “spinster” type emotions and struggles. It has a component of romance, but is not really a romance book.

The last book I read this compulsively was Dr. Mr. Knightley by Katherine Reay about a year ago and that made my “favorites of 2014” list, so Spinstered is looking good for a top spot in 2015.

I give Spinstered 5 out of 5 stars. It touched my heart and I couldn’t put it down. I highly recommend this, especially single women!

I received a digital form of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Find out more about the author at her blog: http://sharynkopf.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

