Where Rivers Part by Kellie Coates Gilbert

image

What it’s about:
(From the publisher) “Success too often comes with a price. Juliet never imagined it could be so high.

Dr. Juliet Ryan has devoted her considerable scientific acumen to corporate America, providing safe drinking water for millions–and affording her plenty of perks along the way. It’s not the path her estranged father would have her take, but then Juliet finds it difficult to maintain respect for a man she cannot trust. She’s on her way up in the world, and she’s not going to let anything drag her down.

But when a fast-moving disaster sweeps Juliet into a whirlpool of corporate scandal, lives are at risk–including those of some of the people closest to her. As she scrambles to find answers, Juliet must face her deepest wounds and join forces with the one who has hurt her most in order to expose a far-reaching conspiracy.

Like a mighty river with twists and turns and hidden rocks, this engrossing story will sweep you relentlessly along as it fearlessly explores the seduction of success, the fear of giving up control, and the redemptive power of learning to forgive.”

My thoughts:
I think Kellie Coates Gilbert offers a refreshing voice in women’s Christian fiction. There is a theme of romance in Where Rivers Part but it is very minor and I would not classify this book as romance, but more “contemporary Christian fiction”. I found the content fascinating in this book and easily kept wanting more and turning the pages. The main point and message of forgiveness came through and was good and I enjoyed how everyone was portrayed in a fairly realistic way without anyone being too perfect. I was a bit disappointed in the characters; I still feel like I don’t really know any of them, even the main characters. Their inner-personalities never really came out to me. The ending felt abrupt to me and wrapped up a little to fast and perfect. The last 30 pages or so didn’t quite mesh with the rest of the writing style, in my opinion. The character development and the ending did influence my opinion of this book and why I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars, but I really did enjoy Where Rivers Part and will recommend it.

I give Where Rivers Part 4 out of 5 stars and especially recommend it to women who don’t want as much romance in the books they read.

I received this book in exchange for my honest review.
About the author: you can find out more about Kellie Coates Gilbert here: http://kelliecoatesgilbert.com/about-kellie/

Leave a Reply

