The Beauty of Grace Editor: Dawn Camp

image

What it’s about:
(From the publisher/back cover)
“This is your invitation . . .
to slow down,
take a deep breath,
and know that you are loved.

In this hectic life, it’s easy to forget that God is always near at hand, even though He sends us frequent reminders. The beauty amid the mess, a well-timed word of encouragement from a friend, the memories that won’t let go of our hearts–they’re all ways God extends an open hand to us. But if we’re not paying attention, we can miss it.

Combining heartfelt stories from some of today’s foremost writers with Dawn’s stunning photography of God’s incredible creation, The Beauty of Grace is your haven of calm contemplation amid the chaos. This inspiring collection includes stories of cultivating friendship, waiting on God, choosing joy, staying connected, learning to trust, and much more.

If you’re in need of a little peace, a little quiet, a little beauty, find comfort in this: you’re invited to experience them all within the pages of this soul-stirring book.”

My thoughts:
This a pretty coffee table type devotional. Many authors contributed to this book. I knew Holley Gerth was one, so I had to read it. I loved her contributions as well as many others and found some new authors to try out! Every contribution felt heartfelt to me. I love when messages come across as something heartfelt and personal rather than just a message, so I really enjoyed this book. I can’t wait to read more from Tsh Oxenreider and Ariana Segerman. I found Rachel Anne Ridge offered me a laugh-out-loud moment, thought “that’s so me!” as I read her work.
Laura Parker’s post made my heart cry yes and Maggie Whitley’s post touched my heart in a special way as well. I think this book has a lot to offer with many different styles of writing. This would make a good gift to any Christian, but especially those that feel burnt out and need to slow down to hear what God is trying to tell them.

I give The Beauty of Grace 4 out of 5 stars and recommend it, mostly to women who feel they need to slow down and receive some of God’s grace.

I received this book in exchange for my honest review.

About the editor: Dawn Camp is a camera-toting, homeschooling mother of eight children. She writes for DaySpring’s (in)courage website, where her beautiful photography previously graced their monthly calendar and currently decorates the desktops of women around the world. Dawn blogs at MyHomeSweetHomeOnline.net and is a featured photographer on Adobe’s website for Adobe Photoshop Lightroom software. She lives with her family in metro Atlanta.

Leave a Reply

