The Trouble with Patience by Maggie Brendan

image

What it’s about:
From the publisher:
“Patience Cavanaugh has lost hope in romance. The man she yearned to marry is dead and her dreams are gone with him. Now she is consumed with restoring a dilapidated boardinghouse in order to support herself.

Despite Patience’s desire for solitude, Jedediah Jones, the local marshal with a reputation for hanging criminals, becomes an ever-looming part of her life. It seems like such a simple arrangement: She needs someone with a strong back to help her fix up the boardinghouse. He needs a dependable source of food for himself and his prisoners. But as she gets to know this “hanging lawman,” Patience finds there is far more to him than meets the eye–and it could destroy their tenuous relationship forever.

With a keen eye for historical detail and a deft hand at romantic tension, Maggie Brendan invites you to a Montana gold rush boomtown, where vices and virtues are on full display and love is lying in wait.”

My thoughts:
I love the name of this series, “Virtues and Vices of the Old West”…. it just sounds so fun! I love the idea behind this series, but there were a few things that kept me from thoroughly enjoying the book. Their words didn’t always seem to go with the time period. I was really surprised with an issue that Patience’s mom brought up and wasn’t sure how it really fit into the plot and story. I got pleasantly surprised with some drama (okay, it’s a bad/tragic event drama, but was pleased to have the storyline change a bit and pick up speed) when I was starting to think it a little bit tedious to read about halfway thought, but I did get a little frustrated with the drawn out ending also. The thoughts the characters had, which usually make me understand and love the character more, seemed a bit off for me. It was a clean romance, as I expect and love with Christian fiction. I really had a soft spot for Emily and all of the characters were a intriguing bunch

I give The Trouble with Patience 3 out of 5 stars.

I received this book in exchange for my honest opinion/review.

About the author: Maggie Brendan is the bestselling author of the Heart of the West and The Blue Willow Brides series. Winner of the 2014 Book Buyers Best Award (OCC/RWA) for inspirational fiction and the 2013 Laurel Wreath Award, she was a finalist for the 2013 Published Maggie Award of Excellence and the 2013 Heart of Excellence Readers’ Choice Award. To learn more, visit http://www.MaggieBrendan.com.

Leave a Reply

