Deadly Echoes by Nancy Mehl

image

What it’s about:
From the publisher:
“After a youth filled with tragedy and upheaval, Sarah Miller’s life is finally settled with all echoes of the past silent at last. She happily calls Sanctuary her home and spends her days teaching at the local school.

Sarah’s joy at her recent reunion with her sister, Hannah, and meeting the niece she didn’t know she had is too soon interrupted when Deputy Sheriff Paul Gleason informs Sarah her sister has been killed.

As she learns more about Hannah’s death, the circumstances are eerily similar to their parents’ murder. Sarah enlists Paul’s help in digging deeper into the murders the police are dismissing as burglaries gone wrong. Paul’s concern encourages Sarah’s growing feelings for him, but as their investigation peels back the layers of lies almost twenty years old, they get close to uncovering the truth one person will do anything to hide–even if that means coming after the last remaining members of the Miller family.”

My thoughts:
I was really excited to get back to Sanctuary, as I really enjoyed Gathering Shadows, the first book in this series. I did enjoy going back, but I did not enjoy this book as much as I hoped I would. I have read many first-person POV lately that I have loved, but I found it to be distracting in Deadly Echoes. The over-use of “I” was distracting and her thoughts made her seem childish and not the most intelligent, when other characters kept commenting on how smart she is and it also just didn’t seem to mesh with her past that would make her grow up fast . I knew who the killer was right away when he was introduced, so it was a bit disappointing on the suspense end for me since I usually never am able to figure that out. He seemed obvious to me, so I was baffled with Sarah’s thoughts and actions with him. The writing style was easy to read and follow and so that makes for a nice enjoyable read. It also allows for me to still be able to recommend this book to others even though it was not my favorite in this series or by this author. I do still look forward to the third book in this series and going back to Sanctuary.

I give Deadly Echoes 3 out of 5 stars.

I received this book in exchange for my honest review.

About the author: You can find out more about Nancy Mehl at http://nancymehl.com/meet-nancy/

Leave a Reply

