The Outlaw Takes a Bride by Susan Page Davis

image

What it’s about:
From the publisher: “Johnny Paynter flees Denver to escape being hanged for a murder he didn’t commit. At his brother’s ranch in Texas, where he thought he could take refuge, he finds his brother, Mark—dead. Taking advantage of his strong resemblance to his brother, Johnny assumes Mark’s identity. Soon Johnny discovers that Mark had been corresponding with a widow named Sally in St. Louis, and she’s en route to be a mail-order bride to Mark. Seeing no other option, Johnny makes a fateful decision to go through with the wedding, posing as his brother. But Sally has secrets she’s hiding, too. How will a marriage survive with so much deception?”

My thoughts:

I love mail order bride/marriage of convenience stories, so of course this book attracted me to it. I loved the beginning of this book; it drew me in and entertained me right away. Ms. Davis has a really easy to read writing style hat makes reading relaxing and fun. There was some mystery and intrigue included and some action towards the end. The mystery was one I figured out fairly early on but did question it as time went by and it just made me want to keep reading. The middle of the book did draw out and get a little repetitive for me, but I am glad I kept reading as the end of full of action and a nice thought-out conclusion. I struggle with books that just wrap it up in the last 10 pages or so, so it was really nice how things worked out and wrapped up in a more believable way towards the mid-end to end.

I give The Outlaw Takes a Bride 3.5/4 stars and will be recommending it to friends that I think will like this type of story.

I received this book in exchange for my honest review.

About the author:
Susan Page Davis writes romantic suspense, historical romance, and mystery. She is a Maine native now living in Kentucky, and a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers. Her books have won several awards including the Carol Award for her novel The Prisoners Wife; the Inspirational Readers’ Choice Award for The Prisoner’s Wife and The Lumberjack’s Lady (Maine Brides series); and the 2012 Will Rogers Medallion Award for her novel Captive Trail (Texas Trails series). Visit her website at http://www.susanpagedavis.com

Leave a Reply

