Together with You by Victoria Bylin

image

What it’s about:
From the publisher:
“Sometimes the most unexpected love can be exactly what a heart needs…

When a Lost Child warning blares over the mall’s PA system, Carly Mason finds the little girl playing with a stuffed rabbit. Something about Penny Tremaine is different. An ex-social worker, Carly recognizes that the child suffers fetal alcohol effects, and a piece of Carly’s past suddenly confronts her. Never again will she become personally involved with a client. The risks are far too great. But something about Penny–and Penny’s handsome father–tugs at Carly’s heart.

Dr. Ryan Tremaine is trying to put his life back together. With his ex-wife remarried and on a trip far away, his two teenage sons and Penny are living under his roof full time. Ryan has put his faith in his Sink-or-Swim list, a plan to reconnect with his children. The first step: recruit Carly Mason to be Penny’s nanny.

Ryan never anticipated being so drawn to Carly, an attraction Carly seems to fight as much as he does. Could Carly be the missing piece that helps his family stay afloat, or will their blossoming romance only complicate things further?”

My thoughts:

I have found Victoria Bylin offers the most realistic, gritty, down-to-earth, real-life-like situations and people in Christian fiction that I’ve read so far. It’s not all a wonderful life and everybody is almost perfect with a few little flaws, there are some pretty ugly life-truths…. and I love how she incorporates all of that into her writing. I read her first book and really enjoyed it, but I like this one even more. I was surprised a few times with some of the events and the timing of them. I had no idea that FAS could be traced to a father, so this book was really eye-opening for me also. The message with Together with You on FAS is huge, along with other great messages that make the reader think and reflect. If you are looking for Christian fiction that has more realistic characters, I think you should give Victora Bylin a try.

I give Together with You 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommend Together with You and after this book, I think Victoria Bylin is now on my must-read list of authors where I plan to read everything they write.

I received this book in exchange for my honest review.

About the author:
Victoria Bylin writes contemporary and historical romances acclaimed for their true-to-life characters and stories. Her work has finaled in contests such as the Carol Awards, the RITAs, and the Reviewers’ Choice Award. A native of California, she and her husband now make their home in Lexington, Kentucky. Visit her website at http://www.victoriabylin.com to find out more.

Leave a Reply

