Until the Harvest by Sarah Loudin Thomas with a GIVEAWAY!

image

What it’s about:
From the publisher:

“When family tragedy derails Henry Phillips’s college studies, he’s left unmoored and feeling abandoned. The only things that can tamp down his grief are the family farm, his fiddle, and an unexpected friendship with sweet but unusual preteen Mayfair Hoffman.

Unfortunately, Mayfair’s older sister, Margaret, despite her spray of freckles and cute, turned-up nose, has a completely different effect. His grandmother’s helper, she’s always around, ready to push his buttons, and it seems at first that she doesn’t care about his troubles.

Henry soon realizes, though, that Margaret’s facing her own struggles. Mayfair’s health and unique gift sit at the heart of those worries. Henry and Margaret soon find themselves relying on each other as potential tragedy collides with growing hope in a warm story of family bonds and the surprising ways healing finds us all.”
My thoughts:
I was excited to read Until the Harvest because I read the first in this series, Miracle in a Dry Season and enjoyed it. It was neat to see how things changed for the characters through time and I loved that this book was set in the 1970’s. It seems rare to find books set during that time, so I really enjoyed that part of Until the Harvest. I think to get the best understanding of these characters, it is best to read this book after the first, but the story itself would probably be okay to follow if you didn’t.

The beginning was a bit slow and this isn’t a dramatic, suspenseful novel, but I never knew when Henry’s actions would get him in trouble or when he would scrape by. It always kept me guessing, and that is always fun!

The first thing that really strikes me with this author’s writing is how she makes her characters. They seem so life-like and realistic. Almost every single one shows some sort of flaw or negative reaction to something, rather than being filled with bubbly, fake happiness. They seem like people I sat down and had coffee with, rather than characters in a novel.

The second thing that I love about her writing is the theme she runs through her book and how she does it. Until the Harvest focuses on love and how we should love people as Christians, friends and more, and also how forgiveness goes along with love.

I give Until the Harvest 4 out of 5 stars. I recommend it for those looking for a thought-provoking gentle read.

I received this book in exchange for my honest review.

About the author:
Sarah Loudin Thomas grew up on a 100-acre farm in French Creek, WV, the seventh generation to live there. Her Christian fiction is set in West Virginia and celebrates the people, the land, and the heritage of Appalachia. Her first novel, Miracle in a Dry Season, releases August 2014. Married with one dog, she now lives in Western North Carolina, which is almost as beautiful as West Virginia.

Sarah is represented by Wendy Lawton of Books & Such Literary Agency. You can visit her at http://www.SarahLoudinThomas.com.
There is a free novella to start off this series! You can download it from here: http://www.amazon.com/Appalachian-Serenade-Novella-Blessings-ebook/dp/B00KQS1DJ8/ref=la_B00GC23UNE_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1432822528&sr=1-3
I somehow received two copies of Until the Harvest and I want to pass on the brand-new, never read copy to you! To enter, comment with your favorite part about Miracle in a Dry a Season if you have read it, or tell me why you want to read this series, along with your name and email address (non-spam format) and I will randomly draw a winner on June 15th and notify them via email! You must be a US resident for me to mail the book to you. Good luck!

15 thoughts on “Until the Harvest by Sarah Loudin Thomas with a GIVEAWAY!

  1. I loved the novel, Miracle in Dry Season. My favorite quote in the book was, “All too often sorrow and joy come skipping into your life holding hands.”

    Thanks for the opportunity to be in the drawing to win a copy of Until the Harvest.

    Cindi Altman

    cindialtman(at)gmail(dot)com

  2. Hi, Katie~

    I read Miracle in a Dry Season last fall, which was a good time of year to read it! As for a favorite part, that’s tough, but I’ll go with Casewell. Didn’t like his name, but I loved the character.

    Thanks!

    sharynkopf at gmail

  3. I read the free novella and the first book of this series, which I enjoyed very much. I really liked the characters. I’d love to win Until the Harvest to continue this great series.

  4. My favorite part of Miracle in a Dry Season is when Casewell realized he had a real pride problem…and that he was no better than someone else in
    Gods eyes. Ewe_r_merritt( at ) yahoo ( dot) com

  5. I would love to win this book because it is a new-to-me author, and it sounds like a really good book. Plus I love to read Thanks and God Bless.

  6. I read Miracle in a Dry Season, but haven’t gotten a copy of Until the Harvest yet. Please enter me in your contest, and thank you for offering your extra copy!
    quiltcat26[at]sbcglobal[dot]net

  7. I’m pretty sure I have a copy of Miracle In a Dry Season in my tBR stack, so would love to have a copy of book 2 in the series.
    Sarah is almost local to me, she can’t be more than an hour or so away from what I’ve read.

  8. I haven’t read Miracle in a dry season yet, will check at my library .Would love to win a copy of Until the harvest.

Leave a Reply

