All That Fills Us by Autumn Lytle

Let’s start with the positives. I liked the writing. I did struggle through some parts where it seemed to slow down a lot, but for the most part, this book kept me engaged and I wanted to keep reading. The kindness of strangers was wonderful and so touching, it brought tears to my eyes. I was really excited about the back cover blurb information.

I did struggle to connect to the main character and most of the minor ones. This makes it hard for me to really love a book. And then there were quite a few research type things that really bothered me in this book. The characyer said it usually took several tries to stand up, but she went on a cross country treck?

The scene with a stranger that didn’t name her baby that was 4 months old, was really weird as it’s illegal in that state to not have a legal name on file with the state within 5 days of the baby’s birth and must include the babies first, middle and last names.

And this one is an opinion, but it really makes me think the author did no research on Minnesota at all when she said it was not scenic and only had corn fields. Mn has over 14k lakes and is gorgeous.

I usually love letters in books, but the letters to Alex made me very uncomfortable.  The whole love story part of the book made me uncomfortable with how unhealthy it all seemed.

Mel met nice people in every city where people usually ignore others, yet found a creeper out in the middle of Minnesota? Im not saying there isn’t any, but the likelihood of that is so outrageous, the scene that should have been comedic releief was just so wrong. And then called a county fair, a carnival. I face palmed when I got to that. And then the ticket prices and amount of tickets was maybe close that back in the 1980s, but not anytime within the last 20 years.

And thick mist on the eastern border ND in late June or early July? What?

I also had a tough time with calling this book Christian fiction. This is the first time a Revell published book has had me questioning.  Usually the content is great. This one was either not there or sketchy until the very end and I just don’t think there was a big enough impact then.  It seemed much more legalistic than showing the grace of God, to me.

All thoughts are my own, thank you Revell for the copy of this book to review.

Leave a comment